Can My Kids Watch? Yuri!!! On ICE

Can I let my kids watch it?  Probably
Little kids, supervised?  Yes
Little kids, by themselves?  Probably
Big kids, supervised?  Yes
Big kids, by themselves?  Yes
Teens, supervised?  Yes
Teens, by themselves?  Yes
Will grown-ups enjoy it?  Probably
Notes:
 rivalry;  minor name-calling (“idiot”, “moron”);  storyline may not hold the interest of younger kids;  implied romantic partnership;  butts (nudity count: 2)

The Winter 2016 television season in Japan brought forth the usual slew of new and continued anime series.  One of the shows getting a lot of hype and excitement on the streets and online, with anime fans, artists, and cosplayers around the world, is Yuri!!! on ICE (ユーリ!!! on ICE).  I love the series, it brought me back to anime, and this is why it is the subject of my first review!

Yuri!!! on ICE (promo video) is a 12-episode sports series depicting the personal and professional tribulations of several internationally-ranked, men figure skaters.  It is an original anime work, not based on published manga.The primary protagonist is Japanese figure skater Yuuri Katsuki, who in Episode 1, experiences a terrible shock at his first and possibly last chance at medaling at a world championship.

There is plenty written about the show:  here’s one episode synopsis, a review, and a series analysis.  Online fervor for the show included creators’ interaction with real-life figure skaters.

I’m a crazy rabid fan of the show.  I loved that the characters had generally positive and supportive feelings for each other, even during peak competition scenes.  Unlike most sports-themed anime, most characters were adults and they didn’t transform into ‘monster’ athletes.  Characters belittling each other was refreshingly rare.  I was obsessively fascinated deeply intrigued by the developing relationship between two main characters.

For the first time ever, I bought merch from Japan (oh yes, shipping fees were high), I play the ED song “You Only Live Once” over and over in my car.  I tweeted at Funimation for the BD/DVD release date (they didn’t reply).

I’m keeping my fingers crossed for an official Season 2 announcement.  I am a little anxious the creative team may get caught up in their own hype and reduce the show to one big fan service.  I love Victor’s butt as much as any silver-hair-athlete-body-loving person, but I really hope the excellent characterization and engaging story continues, and we might see Yuri!!! On ICE for several more competitive seasons.

Studio: MAPPA
Director:  Sayo Yamamoto
Original “Pilot”/Animator Expo video “Endless Night” by Sayo Yamamoto
Writer:  Mitsuro Kubo
Character Design:  Tadashi Hiramatsu

In the USA, watch it at Funimation or Crunchyroll

Opinions are solely my own, I received no compensation or other benefit for my review.

One thought on “Can My Kids Watch? Yuri!!! On ICE

Leave a comment